6th edition of the Access Bank Lagos City Marathon


Marathon are usually long distance race with an official distance of 42.195 kilometres which is also equivalent to 26 miles or 385 yards usually run as a road race .

As an annual event, Lagos state Nigeria witnessed another marathon which is the 6th edition of Access Bank Lagos City Marathon on Saturday, the 10th of April, 2021 as against the initial date of February 13, 2021.

The race which was flagged off by the Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Sunday Dare started in the early hours of Saturday in front of the National Stadium, Surulere, and ended at the Eko Atlantic City, Victoria Island which is a 42-kilometer stretch.

Certain road network experienced total or partial closures and this includes total closure of Third mainland bridge, closure of alaka road service lane, national Stadium to Ojuelegba, Dormanlong Bridge, Onipanu, Obanikoro, Anthony to Charly Boy Bus Stop to Oworonsoki, as well as Adekunle Junction linking the Third Mainland Bridge.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the participants number was greatly decreased unlike previous years where over 100,000 participated in the marathon, only 300 elite runners/athletes were allowed to participate in this 2021 edition.

The top 8 runners have prizes to take home and also as a bonus to Nigerians, there are prizes to be won for any one that crosses the finishing line.

The prizes includes;


1st Position$30,000
2nd Position$20,000
3rd Position$15,000
4th Position$10,000
5th Position$5,000
6th Position$3,000
7th Position$2,000
8th Position$1,000


1st Nigerian₦ 1,000,000
2nd Nigerian₦ 750,000
3rd Nigerian₦ 500,000
4th Nigerian₦ 300,000
5th Nigerian₦ 250,000
6th Nigerian₦ 200,000
7th Nigerian₦ 100,000
8th Nigerian₦ 50,000.

The top 3 winners from the female and Male category includes;


1. Meseret Dinke from ethiopia won the 1st position in the female category after 2 hours, 28 minutes and 51 seconds and got a p and got a prize of $30000.

See also  All you need to know about Hair Extensions and their types
Meseret Dinke

2 Celestine Chepchirchir from Kenya won the 2nd position in the female category and got a prize of $20000.

3 Desta Muluneh from Ethiopia won the 3rd position in the female category and got a prize of $15000.


1 Emmanuel Naibei from Kenya won the 1st position in the male category after 2 hours, 11 minutes and 37 seconds and got a prize of $30000.

Emmanuel Naibei

2 Daresa Geleta of Ethiopia won the 2nd position in the male category and got a prize of $20000.

3 Demiso Legese also from Ethiopia won the third place in male category with a prize of $15000

Nigerias Istifanus Peter Mahan from plateau state was the first Nigerian to cross the finish line and got a prize of 1 million naira

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notice: Undefined index: sfsi_mastodonIcon_order in /home/deboprestige/234gist.com/wp-content/plugins/ultimate-social-media-icons/libs/controllers/sfsi_frontpopUp.php on line 175

Notice: Undefined index: sfsi_mastodon_display in /home/deboprestige/234gist.com/wp-content/plugins/ultimate-social-media-icons/libs/controllers/sfsi_frontpopUp.php on line 268

Notice: Undefined index: sfsi_snapchat_display in /home/deboprestige/234gist.com/wp-content/plugins/ultimate-social-media-icons/libs/controllers/sfsi_frontpopUp.php on line 277

Notice: Undefined index: sfsi_reddit_display in /home/deboprestige/234gist.com/wp-content/plugins/ultimate-social-media-icons/libs/controllers/sfsi_frontpopUp.php on line 274

Notice: Undefined index: sfsi_fbmessenger_display in /home/deboprestige/234gist.com/wp-content/plugins/ultimate-social-media-icons/libs/controllers/sfsi_frontpopUp.php on line 271

Notice: Undefined index: sfsi_tiktok_display in /home/deboprestige/234gist.com/wp-content/plugins/ultimate-social-media-icons/libs/controllers/sfsi_frontpopUp.php on line 265

Thanks for reading? Please spread the word